logo NFI logo SMART Research BV
Choisissez votre langue: English Español Français Português 中文(简体) 日本語 Русский
logo
shadow
Cet article est basé sur un chapitre de livre qui nous avons écrit
Wiegerinck W.A.J.J., Kappen H.J., Burgers W.G.
Bayesian networks for expert systems, theory and practical applications.
Interactive Collaborative Information Systems
Studies in Computational Intelligence, 2010, Volume 281/2010, 547-578
DOI: 10.1007/978-3-642-11688-9_20


Bayesian Networks

Les réseaux bayésiens (Bayesian networks) se prêtent très bien à modeler des relations statistiques de matériaux génétiques des proches parents. Ils peuvent être appliqués directement dans une analyse de parenté avec tous types de pedigree (l’arbre généalogique) de proches des personnes absentes et disparues. Un avantage supplémentaire de l’approche du réseau bayésien, c’est que l’outil d’analyse est plus transparent et plus flexible, cela permet aux autres facteurs qui jouent un rôle d’être incorporés dans le processus. Les facteurs comme par exemple la probabilité d’un erreur de mesure, les données manquantes, les statistiques ou les marqueurs génétiques plus avancés.

Le moteur informatique de Bonaparte utilise les réseaux bayésiens et les méthodes de références bayésiennes. Ils permettent de faire une analyse de parenté génétique basée sur les profils d’ADN, combinés avec les informations de pedigree. Le moteur a été conçu spécifiquement pour supporter les incidents a grande échelle avec des milliers de victimes et personnes disparues.

Dans le reste de cette section, nous décrivons le modèle d’approche qui a été mise au point dans cette application. Nous formulons la tâche informatique, le calcul de rapport des vraisemblances de deux hypothèses. Le composant principal est le modèle de probabilité P des analyses génétiques. Avant de discuter ce modèle nous vous donnons une courte introduction sur les analyses ADN. Dans la dernière partie de cette section nous décrivons comment P a été modelé comme un réseau bayésien et comment le test du rapport des vraisemblances est calculé.

Likelihood Ratio of Two Hypotheses

Supposons que nous avons un pedigree pour un individu qui est disparu ( « Missing Person, MP »). Il y a quelques membres de la famille qui ont fourni le matériel ADN pour construire le pedigree. En plus, il y a un Individu Non Identifié (« Unidentified Individual, UI »), dont l’ADN est également analysé. La question se pose, est UI = MP ? Pour continuer, supposons-nous qu’il y a un modèle de probabilité P pour les preuves d’ADN des membres de la famille dans une pedigree. Pour calculer la probabilité de cet éventualité nous avons besoin d’hypothèses comparables. H1 est l’hypothèse 1 qui souligne que UI= MP. H0 est l’hypothèse alternative qui prétend que UI est une personne sans lien de parenté (« Unrelated Person, U » ). Dans chacun de hypothèses nous avons deux pedigrees: le premier a MP et les membres de famille FAM comme des membres. Le deuxième a seulement U comme membre. Pour comparer les deux hypothèses, nous recherchons la probabilité des preuves des analyses génétiques parmi les deux hypothèses.

Sous le modèle P, le rapport de probabilité des deux hypothèses est

LR =P(E|Hp)/P(E|Hd)

Si en outre, une chance antérieure P(Hp)=P(Hd), des chances postérieures P(Hp|E)=P(Hd|E) suivent directement de la multiplication des chances postérieures et rapport de probabilité.

P(Hp|E)/P(Hd|E)=( P(E|Hp)P(Hp) )/( P(E|Hd)P(Hd) )
DNA Profiles

Nous donnons une courte introduction sur des profiles d’ADN pour l’analyse de parenté. Nous retrouvons un traité compréhensible dans la littérature. Dans le corps humain, l’ADN trouvé dans le noyau de la cellule se retrouve dans les chromosomes. Une cellule humaine normale contient 46 chromosomes, qui peuvent être organisé en 23 pairs. Dans une paire de chromosomes, une copie est héritée par le père et l’autre est héritée par la mère. Dans 22 pairs, les chromosomes appariés sont homologues, c’est-a-dire ils ont la même taille et contiennent, en général, les mêmes gènes (les éléments fonctionnels d’ADN). Ils sont nommé les chromosomes autosomes. Le chromosome restant est le chromosome sexuel qui détermine le sexe masculin ou le sexe féminin. Un homme a les chromosomes sexuels X et Y, une femme a deux chromosomes sexuels X.

L’ADN de chaque deux personnes de la population générale est identique pour plus de 99%. Par conséquence, la plupart d’ADN n’est pas utile pour le processus d’identification. Pourtant, dans les chromosomes, il y a des locations spécifiques où il y a des différences génétiques parmi les individus. Une telle variation est nommée un marqueur génétique. Dans la science de génétique, ces locations spécifiques s’appellent «loci», une seule location «locus».

Dans la recherche médico-légale, les marqueurs de «short tandem repeat» (STR) sont les plus utilisées. C’est parce qu’ils peuvent être déterminés de petite quantité de tissu de l’organisme. Une autre avantage est que les marqueurs ont un taux de mutation très bas, ce qui est important pour les analyses de parenté. Les marqueurs STR sont une catégorie de variation qui se produit quand une séquence de deux ou plus de nucléotides se répète. Par exemple,

(CATG)3=CATGCATGCATG

Le nombre de répétitions x (3 dans l’exemple) est la variation parmi la population. Parfois, il y a une répétition fractionnaire, par exemple CATGCATGCATGCA, cela peut être encodé comme x= 3.2, puisque il y ait 3 répétitions et 2 nucléotides additionnelles. Les valeurs possibles de x et leurs fréquences sont bien documentées pour les «loci» selon l’usage de recherche médico-légale. Les gammes et les fréquences varient entre loci. Et dans une manière ils varient entre sous-populations d’être humains. Les loci de STR sont plus ou moins standardisés. La collection de marqueurs donne le profil d’ADN. Comme les chromosomes existent en pairs, un profil consistera de pairs de marqueurs. Par exemple (la notation suivante n’est pas standard)

x̄ =(1x1;1x2);(2x1;2x2);⋯;(nx1;nx2)

Chaque μxsest un nombre de répétitions de locus M. Par contre, comme les chromosomes existent en pairs, il sera deux allèles μx1 and μx2 pour chaque location, un allèle paternel et un allèle maternel. Malheureusement, les méthodes d’analyses ADN courants ne peuvent pas identifier la phase des allèles, autrement dit : si l’allèle est paternel ou maternel. Cela veut dire que (μx1, μx2) ne peut pas être distingué de (μx2, μx1). Pour faire la notation unique, on classe les allèles observés d’un locus dans une façon que μx1μx2. Les chromosomes sont hérités des parents. Chaque parent passes une copie d’une paire de chromosomes à l’enfant. Pour les chromosomes autosomiques il n’y a pas de préférence quelle paire transmettra à l’enfant. En plus, il n’y a pas de corrélation (connue) entre la transmission des chromosomes de paires différentes. Comme chromosomes sont hérités des parents, les allèles sont également hérités des parents. Par contre, il y a une petite probabilité que l’allèle a changé ou est modifié. La probabilité sur une telle modification est environ 0,1%. Finalement dans l’analyse d’ADN, un erreur peut se produire et un allèle dans un locus certain tombe. Dans un cas pareil, l’observation est (μx1;F), F est un «wild card», un caractère d’ambigüité.


A Bayesian Network for Kinship Analysis

Dans cette sous-partie nous décrivons les composantes du réseau bayésien pour modeler les probabilités des profiles d’ADN d’individus dans un pedigree. D’abord, nous observons que l’héritage et l’observation des allèles des loci différents sont indépendants. Pour chaque locus nous pouvons faire un modèle P indépendant μ. Dans la description plus bas nous considérons un modèle pour un seule locus, et en avantage de la commodité d’écriture, nous supprimons la dépendance.

Allele Probabilities

Nous considérons des pedigrees avec des individus i. Dans un pedigree, chaque individu i a deux parents, un père f(i) et une mère m(i). Une exception est quand l’individu est un enfant trouvé. Dans ce cas il n’a pas de parents dans le pedigree.

Les relations statistiques entre des profiles d’ADN et les allèles de membres de la famille peuvent être construites du pedigree, combiné avec des modèles pour la transmission d’allèle. Sur le locus étudié, chaque individu i a un allèle paternel xfi et un allèle maternel xmi. f et m signifie ‘père’ et ‘mère’. Le pair d’allèles est dénoté comme xi =(xfi,xmi). Parfois nous utilisons exposant s qui peut avoir les valeurs {f,m}. Alors, chaque allèle dans le pedigree est indexé par (i,s),où i parle des individus et s des phases (f,m). Les allèles peut supposer les valeurs N, où N comme les valeurs des allèles dépend du locus.

Un allèle d’un enfant trouvé est nommé un ‘allèle trouvé’. Donc un enfant trouvé dans une pedigree a 2 ‘allèles trouvés’. Le modèle le plus simple pour les allèles trouvés est de supposer qu’ils sont indépendants et que chacun suit une répartition P(a) des fréquences de la population. En général, P(a) dépendra du locus. Les modèles plus avancés, dans lesquels les allèles trouvés ont une corrélation, ont été proposé. Par exemple, on peut assumer que les enfants trouvés dans un pedigree viennent d’une seule sous- population inconnue. Ce modèle d’hypothèse donne des corrections aux résultats des modèles sans corrélations d’enfants trouvés. Un inconvénient est que ces modèles mènent à une augmentation du mémoire requis et du temps de calcul. Dans cette partie, nous nous limitons aux modèles d’allèles indépendants d’enfants trouvés. Si un individu i a ses parents dans un pedigree, la distribution allélique d’un individu (vu par des allèles de ses parents) est comme suivant :

P(xi|xf(i),xm(i)) = P(xfi|xf(i))P(xmi|xm(i))

P(xfi|xf(i)) = ½ Σs=f,m P(xfi|xsf(i))
P(xmi|xm(i)) = ½ Σs=f,m P(xmi|xsm(i))

Pour expliquer en mots: individu i a son allèle paternel xfi de son père. f(i). Pourtant, il y a une probabilité de 50% que c’est l’allèle paternel xff(i) de père f(i) et donc 50% qu’il soit l’allèle maternel. xmf(i).

Les probabilités P (xfi|xsf(i)) et P(xmi|xsm(i)) sont données par un modèle de mutation génique P(a|b), ce qui code la probabilité que l’allèle d’enfant est «a », bien que l’allèle de la chromosome parentale soit transmis comme «b» . Les mécanismes de mutation précisés Bayesian network pour les différents marqueurs STR ne sont pas connus. Il y a des preuves que les mutations de père à l’enfant sur plus probables (environ 10 fois) que les mutations de mère à l’enfant. Le sexe de chaque individu est connu, mais pour des commodités d’écriture nous réprimons la dépendance du sexe du parent. En général, la mutation tend à diminuer par la différence entre les répétitifs |a-b|. La mutation dépend aussi du locus.

Plusieurs modèles de mutation géniques sont proposés dans la littérature. Comme nous verrons plus tard, l’inclusion d’un modèle détaillé de mutation peut mener à une augmentation sévère de temps de traitement et de mémoire requis. Comme des mutations géniques sont très rares, on peut poser la question s’il y a une pertinence pratique d’un modèle de mutation détaillé ? Bien sûr, le modèle le plus simple est de supposer que les mutations sont absentes, P(a|b)=δa,b. Un tel modèle améliore l’inférence efficace. Cependant, chaque mutation dans chaque locus mènera à un rejet de match total (100%), même si il y a un match de 100% sur les autres marqueurs. Donc, les modèles de mutation sont importants dans tels cas. Le plus simple modèle de mutation non – trivial est un modèle de mutation uniforme avec un taux de mutation m (ne pas être confondu avec l’index locus)

P(a|a)=1-μ
P(a|b)= μ/(N-1)

Une avantage de ce modèle est que le mémoire requis et le temps de calcul augmentent seulement légèrement, comparé avec le modèle sans des mutations. Notez que la fréquence de la population n’est pas invariante dans ce modèle : la mutation rend la fréquence plus plat. On peut discuter que c’est une propriété réaliste qui introduit la diversité de la population. Dans les applications pratiques du modèle, cette même fréquence de population est supposé d’appliquer sur les trouvés dans différentes générations de pedigree. Donc quand plus de références non- observés sont inclus dans le modèle de pedigree pour faire une analyse de parenté, le rapport de vraisemblances devrait changer légèrement. Autrement dit, les pedigrees formellement équivalents donnera des rapport de vraisemblances différents.

Observations

Des observations sont notées comme x̄i, ou x̄ si nous ne faisons pas référence à un individu. L’origine parentale d’un allèle ne peut être étudiée, donc les allèles xf=a, xm=b profitent de la même observation comme xf=b, xm=a. La convention d’écrire est que nous commençons avec l’allèle le plus petit dans l’observation x̄(a,b) ⇔,a ≤ b. Dans le cas d’un allèle perdu, nous écrivons x̄ =(x,F). F signifie le caractère d’ambigüité. Nous supposons qu’un allèle perdu peut être étudié (par exemple par la taille maximale), c’est modelé par L. Avec L = 1 il y a un allèle perdu et il y aura un caractère d’ambigüité ? Une observation complète est encodée comme L = 0. T Le cas de deux allèles perdus n’est pas modèle, car nous n’avons pas d’observation. Le modèle d’observation est maintenant simplement noté. Sans d’allèle perdu (L = 0), les allèles y ont pour résultat l’observation y. Ceci est modèle par la table déterministe.

P(x̄|y,L = 0 ) = 1 ⇔ x̄ = y, 0 autrement.

Y est seulement x̄ with x̄ = y. Avec une perte d’allèle (L = 1), nous avons

P(x̄ = (a,F)|(a,b), L = 1) = ½ ⇔ a ≠ b
P(x̄ = (b,F)|(a,b, )L = 1) = ½ ⇔ a ≠ b

et

P(x̄=(a,F)|(a,a),L = 1) = 1

C’est-a-dire, si un allèle est perdu, les allèles (a,b) mène à une observation a (puis b est perdu) ou à une observation b (puis a est perdu). Les deux événements ont une probabilité de 50%. Si les deux allèles sont identiques, donc aussi le pair en est (a,a), puis naturellement a est observé avec une probabilité de 100%.

Inference

Par la multiplication de tous les allèles antérieurs, un réseau bayésien d’alleles x et profiles d’ADN est fait, dans un pedigree spécifique. Supposons que le pedigree consiste d’un ensemble d’individus J=1,…,K Avec un sous- ensemble de trouvés F, et supposons que les allèles perdus Lj cette probabilité est :

P( {x̄,x}J) = ∏j P(x̄j|xj,Lj) ∏i ∈ J\F P(xi|xf(i),xm(i)) ∏i ∈ F P(xi)

Avec ce modèle, on peut tester la vraisemblance de chaque ensemble de profiles d’ADN. Si nous avons des observations x̄j d’un sous-ensemble d’individus j ∈ O, la vraisemblance des observations dans ce pedigree est la distribution marginale P({x̄}O), qui est la probabilité marginale.

P({x̄}O) = Σx1 … ΣxKj ∈ O P(x̄j|xj,Lj) ∏ i ∈ J\FP(xi|xf(i),xm(i)) ∏i ∈F P(xi)

Ce traitement informatique implique la somme de tous états de pairs d’allèles de tous les individus. Un algorithme d’arbre de jonction peut être appliqué pour calculer la probabilité désirée. Dans cette façon, des probabilités et des rapports du vraisemblances peuvent être calculés pour tous les loci, et rapporté à l’utilisateur.

août 29 2014, 09:24:09 / ffd0fa2491d15aebe0e81c15da5c56aae583a1a7
EnglishEnglish EspañolEspañol FrançaisFrançais PortuguêsPortuguês 中文(简体)中文(简体) 日本語日本語 РусскийРусский
SMART Research BV • Heyendaalseweg 135 • 6525 AJ Nijmegen • The Netherlands EU flag Cookies

logo NFI logo SMART Research BV
Choose your language: English Español Français Português 中文(简体) 日本語 Русский
logo
shadow

This article is based on a book chapter we wrote
Wiegerinck W.A.J.J., Kappen H.J., Burgers W.G.
Bayesian networks for expert systems, theory and practical applications.
Interactive Collaborative Information Systems
Studies in Computational Intelligence, 2010, Volume 281/2010, 547-578
DOI: 10.1007/978-3-642-11688-9_20


Bayesian Networks

Bayesian networks are very well suited to model the statistical relations of genetic material of relatives in a pedigree. They can directly be applied in kinship analysis with any type of pedigree of relatives of the missing persons. An additional advantage of a Bayesian network approach is that it makes the analysis tool more transparent and flexible, allowing to incorporate other factors that play a role such as measurement error probability, missing data, statistics of more advanced genetic markers etc.

The computational engine of Bonaparte uses automatically generated Bayesian networks and Bayesian inference methods, enabling to correctly do kinship analysis on the basis of DNA profiles combined with pedigree information. It is specifically designed to handle large scale incidents with thousands of victims and missing persons.

In the remainder of this section we will describe the Bayesian model approach that has been taken in the development of the application. We formulate the computational task, which is the computation of the likelihood ratio of two hypotheses. The main ingredient is a probabilistic model P of DNA profiles. Before discussing the model, we will first provide a brief introduction to DNA profiles. In the last part of the section we describe how P is modeled as a Bayesian network, and how the likelihood ratio is computed.

Likelihood Ratio of Two Hypotheses

Assume we have a pedigree with an individual MP who is missing (the Missing Person). In this pedigree, there are some family members that have provided DNA material, yielding the profiles. Furthermore there is an Unidentified Individual UI, whose DNA is also profiled. The question is, is UI=MP? To proceed, we assume that we have a probabilistic model P for DNA evidence of family members in a pedigree. To compute the probability of this event, we need hypotheses to compare. The common choice is to formulate two hypotheses. The first is the hypothesis H1 that indeed UI=MP. The alternative hypothesis H0 is that UI is an unrelated person U. In both hypotheses we have two pedigrees: the first pedigree has MP and family members FAM as members. The second one has only U as member. To compare the hypotheses, we compute the likelihoods of the evidence from the DNA profiles under the two hypotheses,

Under the model P, the likelihood ratio of the two hypotheses is

LR =P(E|Hp)/P(E|Hd)

If in addition a prior odds P(Hp)=P(Hd)is given, the posterior odds P(Hp|E)=P(Hd|E) follows directly from multiplication of the prior odds and likelihood ratio,

P(Hp|E)/P(Hd|E)=( P(E|Hp)P(Hp) )/( P(E|Hd)P(Hd) )
DNA Profiles

In this subsection we provide a brief introduction on DNA profiles for kinship analysis. A comprehensive treatise can be found in literature. In humans, DNA found in the nucleus of the cell is packed on chromosomes. A normal human cell has 46 chromosomes, which can be organized in 23 pairs. From each pair of chromosomes, one copy is inherited from father and the other copy is inherited from mother. In 22 pairs, chromosomes are homologous, i.e., they have practically the same length and contain in general the same genes ( functional functional elements of DNA). These are called the autosomal chromosomes. The remaining chromosome is the sex-chromosome.Males have an X and a Y chromosome. Females have two X chromosomes.

More than 99% of the DNA of any two humans of the general population is identical. Most DNA is therefore not useful for identification. However, there are well specified locations on chromosomes where there is variation in DNA among individuals. Such a variation is called a genetic marker. In genetics, the specified locations are called loci. A single location is a locus.

In forensic research, the short tandem repeat (STR) markers are currently most used. The reason is that they can be reliable determined from small amounts of body tissue. Another advantage is that they have a low mutation rate, which is important for kinship analysis. STR markers is a class of variations that occur when a pattern of two or more nucleotides is repeated. For example,

(CATG)3=CATGCATGCATG

The number of repeats x (which is 3 in the example) is the variation among the population. Sometimes, there is a fractional repeat, e.g. CATGCATGCATGCA, this would be encoded with repeat number x =3.2, since there are three repeats and two additional nucleotides. The possible values of x and their frequencies are well documented for the loci used in forensic research. These ranges and frequencies vary between loci. To some extend they vary among subpopulations of humans. The STR loci are more or less standardized. The collection of markers yields the DNA profile. Since chromosomes exist in pairs, a profile will consist of pairs of markers. For example (the following notation is not common standard)

x̄ =(1x1;1x2);(2x1;2x2);⋯;(nx1;nx2)

in which each μxs is a number of repeats at a well defined locus m. However, since chromosomes exists in pairs, there will be two alleles μx1 and μx2 for each location, one paternal—on the chromosome inherited from father— and one maternal. Unfortunately, current DNA analysis methods cannot identify the phase of the alleles, i.e., whether an allele is paternal or maternal. This means that (μx1, μx2)cannot be distinguished from (μx2, μx1). In order to make the notation unique, we order the observed alleles of a locus such that μx1μx2. Chromosomes are inherited from parents. Each parent passes one copy of each pair of chromosomes to the child. For autosomal chromosomes there is no (known) preference which one is transmitted to the child. There is also no (known) correlation between the transmission of chromosomes from different pairs. Since chromosomes are inherited from parents, alleles are inherited from parents as well. However, there is a small probability that an allele is changed or mutated. This mutation probability is about 0.1%. Finally in the DNA analysis, sometimes failures occur in the DNA analysis method and an allele at a certain locus drops out. In such a case the observation is (μx1;F), in which “F” is a wild card.


A Bayesian Network for Kinship Analysis

In this subsection we will describe the building blocks of a Bayesian network to model probabilities of DNA profiles of individuals in a pedigree. First we observe that inheritance and observation of alleles at different loci are independent. So for each locus we can make an independent model Pμ . In the model description below, we will consider a model for a single locus, and we will suppress the μ dependency for notational convenience.

Allele Probabilities

We will consider pedigrees with individuals i. In a pedigree, each individual i has two parents, a father f(i) and a mother m(i). An exception is when a individual is a founder. In that case it has no parents in the pedigree.

Statistical relations between DNA profiles and alleles of family members can be constructed from the pedigree, combined with models for allele transmission. On the given locus, each individual i has a paternal allele xfi and a maternal allele xmi. f and m stands for ‘father’ and ‘mother’. The pair of alleles is denoted as xi =(xfi,xmi). Sometimes we use superscript s which can have values {f,m}. So each allele in the pedigree is indexed by (i,s), where i runs over individuals and s over phases (f,m). The alleles can assume N values, where N as well as the allele values depend on the locus.

An allele from a founder is called ‘founder allele’. So a founder in the pedigree has two founder alleles. The simplest model for founder alleles is to assume that they are independent, and each follow a distribution P(a) of population frequencies. This distribution is assumed to be given. In general P(a) will depend on the locus. More advanced models have been proposed in which founder alleles are correlated. For instance, one could assume that founders in a pedigree come from a single but unknown subpopulation. This model assumption yield corrections to the outcomes in modelswithout correlations between founders. A drawback is that these models may lead to a severe increase in required memory and computation time. In this chapter we will restrict ourself to models with independent founder alleles. If an individual i has its parents in the pedigree the allele distribution of an individual given the alleles of its parents are as follows,

P(xi|xf(i),xm(i)) = P(xfi|xf(i))P(xmi|xm(i))

where

P(xfi|xf(i)) = ½ Σs=f,m P(xfi|xsf(i))
P(xmi|xm(i)) = ½ Σs=f,m P(xmi|xsm(i))

To explain in words: individual i obtains its paternal allele xfi from its father f(i). However, there is a 50% chance that this allele is the paternal allele xff(i) of father f(i) and a 50% chance that it is his maternal allele xmf(i).

The probabilities P(xfi|xsf(i)) and P(xmi|xsm(i)) are given by a mutation model P(a|b), which encodes the probability that allele of the child is a while the allele on the parental chromosome that is transmitted is b. The precise mutation mechanisms Bayesian network for the different STR markers are not known. There is evidence that mutations from father to child are in general about 10 times as probable as mutations from mother to child. Gender of each individual is assumed to be known, but for notational convenience we suppress dependency of parent gender. In general, mutation tends to decrease with the difference in repeat numbers |a-b|. Mutation is also locus dependent.

Several mutation models have been proposed in literature. As we will see later, however, the inclusion of a detailed mutation model may lead to a severe increase in required memory and computation time. Since mutations are very rare, one could ask if there is any practical relevance in a detailed mutation model. The simplest mutation model is of course to assume the absence of mutations, P(a|b)=δa,b. Such model enhances efficient inference. However, any mutation in any single locus would lead to a 100% rejection of the match, even if there is a 100% match in the remaining markers. Mutation models are important to get some model tolerance against such case. The simplest non-trivial mutation model is a uniform mutation model with mutation rate m (not to be confused with the locus index μ),

P(a|a)=1-μ
P(a|b)= μ/(N-1)

An advantage of this model is that the required memory and computation time increases only slightly compared to the mutation free model. Note that the population frequency is in general not invariant under this model: the mutation makes the frequency more flat. One could argue that this is a realistic property that introduces diversity in the population. In practical applications in the model, however, the same population frequency is assumed to apply to founders in different generations in a pedigree. This implies that if more unobserved references are included in the pedigree to model ancestors of an individual, the likelihood ratio will (slightly) change. In other words, formally equivalent pedigrees will give (slightly) different likelihood ratios.

Observations

Observations are denoted as x̄i, or x̄ if we do not refer to an individual. The parental origin of an allele can not be observed, so alleles xf=a, xm=b yields the same observation as xf=b, xm=a. We adopt the convention to write the smallest allele first in the observation: x̄(a,b) ⇔,a ≤ b. In the case of an allele loss, we write x̄ =(x,F)where F stands for a wild card. We assume that the event of an allele loss can be observed (e.g. via the peak height). This event is modeled by L. With L = 1 there is allele loss, and there will be a wild card ?. A full observation is coded as L = 0. The case of loss of two alleles is not modeled, since in that case we simply have no observation. The observation model is now straightforwardly written down. Without allele loss (L = 0), alleles y results in an observation y. This is modeled by the deterministic table

P(x̄|y,L = 0 ) = 1 ⇔ x̄ = y, 0 otherwise.

Note that for a given y there is only one x̄ with x̄ = y. With allele loss (L = 1), we have

P(x̄ = (a,F)|(a,b), L = 1) = ½ ⇔ a ≠ b
P(x̄ = (b,F)|(a,b, )L = 1) = ½ ⇔ a ≠ b

and

P(x̄=(a,F)|(a,a),L = 1) = 1

I.e., if one allele is lost, the alleles (a,b) lead to an observation a (then b is lost), or to an observation b (then a is lost). Both events have 50% probability. If both alleles are the same, so the pair is (a,a), then of course a is observed with 100% probability.

Inference

By multiplying all allele priors, transmission probabilities and observationmodels, a Bayesian network of alleles x and DNA profiles of individuals x̄ in a given pedigree is obtained. Assume that the pedigree consists of a set of individuals J=1,…,K with a subset of founders F, and assume that allele losses Lj are given, then this probability reads

P( {x̄,x}J) = ∏j P(x̄j|xj,Lj) ∏i ∈ J\F P(xi|xf(i),xm(i)) ∏i ∈ F P(xi)

Under this model the likelihood of a given set DNA profiles can now be computed. If we have observations x̄j from a subset of individuals j ∈ O, the likelihood of the observations in this pedigree is the marginal distribution P({x̄}O), which is the marginal probability

P({x̄}O) = Σx1 … ΣxKj ∈ O P(x̄j|xj,Lj) ∏ i ∈ J\FP(xi|xf(i),xm(i)) ∏i ∈F P(xi)

This computation involves the sum over all states of allele pairs xi of all individuals. A junction tree-based algorithm can straightforwardly applied to compute the desired likelihood. In this way, likelihoods and likelihood ratios are computed for all loci, and reported to the user.

August 29 2014, 09:24:04 / 11bb8241af3a3aaf00702543ec3df03d617cef78
EnglishEnglish EspañolEspañol FrançaisFrançais PortuguêsPortuguês 中文(简体)中文(简体) 日本語日本語 РусскийРусский
SMART Research BV • Heyendaalseweg 135 • 6525 AJ Nijmegen • The Netherlands EU flag